Fire Alarms

Effective fire detection and alarm systems are a key component of fire risk management for any commercial or public building.

Fire regulations require businesses to be able to provide evidence that their system is fit for purpose and is designed, installed, commissioned and maintained in accordance with the relevant British Standards by a competent contractor.

British Standard 5839-1:2017 sets out very clear guidance on every aspect of a fire alarm and detection system and is split into four distinct categories, Design, Installation, Commissioning and Maintenance. Each of these categories are covered by BAFE SP203-1, and we are accredited in all four.

Fire Alarm System Types


Conventional fire alarm systems use zones, which are represented by LEDs on the control panel. Each zone identifies a specific area of the building. On activation of the system the zone in alarm needs to be searched to locate the cause of the alarm.
Conventional fire alarm systems are cost effective and perfect for small premises.

Analogue Addressable

Analogue addressable systems are much more sophisticated than conventional systems, as each detector has its own unique address with the ability to not only identify the area of activation, but the exact location, which will be shown on the panel display. This allows for a faster and safer search of the building.
The system can be configured to provide a wide range of flexibility. Panels can be networked together and graphic systems can be added to further enhanced the fire alarm system.


Radio systems can be used on any site but they are best suited to historic or listed buildings, hotels, schools or any premises that requires a time-limited, efficient installation with minimal damage to the fabric of the building.

Fire Alarm System Categories

Category L1 to L5 – Primarily designed to protect life
Category P1 to P2 – Primarily designed to protect property
Category M – Manually operated systems with no automatic fire detectors